Welcome to the Francke Portal

The August Hermann Francke Study Centre with the Archive and Library departments preserves the majority of the printed and unprinted sources regarding August Hermann Francke (1663-1727), the theologian and paedagogue who founded the Francke Foundations (for his curriculum vitae, click here). Francke was one of the most important representatives of Pietism, the first reform movement of Protestantism since the Reformation, which decisively influenced religious and cultural life during the eighteenth century.
Constructing the Francke Portal takes place within the context of a four-year project supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (1 March 2013 to 28 February 2017). In the course hereof electronic data collections and catalogues as well as editions, developed in recent years at the August Hermann Francke Study Centre and the Interdisciplinary Centre for Pietism Studies of the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg , merge on a platform to be further developed and systematically enhanced with digital copies of recorded printed and unprinted sources. The source and data sets are presented in eight modules and interlinked:
The Francke Portal aims at improving the scholarly information supply with regard to the interdisciplinary research on Pietism and to virtually all historically oriented disciplines of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Moreover, research on August Hermann Francke and Halle Pietism is encouraged.
The technical basis of the Francke Portal is provided by the software platform Visual Library of the companies Semantics GmbH and Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG.

Research

  • Search for documents by applying keywords across all modules!
  • Carry out an advanced search for a targeted subject within each module. The field labels are individually matched to the module, i.e., to the specific genre, such as printed publications or letters.
  • Browse through the modules and specify your results by means of the facets!
  • Utilise the search options for Lists and Clouds!

Your opinion is important to us

If you have any suggestions for improving or expanding our Digital Collections, please contact Dr. Britta Klosterberg, head of the August Hermann Francke Study Centre, E-mail: klosterberg(at)francke-halle.de
If you need any help with your research, or come across erros of a bibliographical, editorial or technical nature, please contact the project coordinator, Dr. Karsten Hommel, E-mail: hommel-Irgendwas-(at)francke-halle.de

Contact information

Francke Foundations
August Hermann Francke Study Centre
- Archive and Library -
Francke 1, House 22-24
D-06110 Halle
Tel.: 0049-(0)345-2127412
E-mail: studienzentrum-Irgendwas-(at)francke-halle.de
Gefördert durch die

Willkommen im Francke-Portal

Das Studienzentrum August Hermann Francke mit den Abteilungen Archiv und Bibliothek bewahrt den größten Teil der gedruckten und ungedruckten Quellen zu dem Gründer der Franckeschen Stiftungen, dem Theologen und Pädagogen August Hermann Francke (1663-1727) (siehe tabellarischer Lebenslauf). Francke war einer der wichtigsten Vertreter des Pietismus, der ersten Reformbewegung des Protestantismus seit der Reformation, die maßgeblichen Einfluss auf das religiöse und kulturelle Leben des 18. Jahrhunderts ausübte.

Der Aufbau des Francke-Portals erfolgt im Rahmen eines von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft unterstützten, vierjährigen Projektes (01.03.2013-28.02.2017), in dem elektronische Datensammlungen und Kataloge sowie Editionen, die in den letzten Jahren im Studienzentrum August Hermann Francke und im Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Pietismusforschung der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg erarbeitet worden sind, auf einer Plattform zusammengeführt, weiter erschlossen und systematisch um Digitalisate der verzeichneten gedruckten und ungedruckten Quellen angereichert werden. Die Quellen- und Datenbestände werden in acht Modulen präsentiert und miteinander vernetzt:

1. Porträts
2. Tagebücher
3. Tagebuchbeilagen
4. Bibliographie der Schriften
5. Edierte Schriften, Predigten und Briefe
6. Epistolar
7. Sekundärliteratur
8. Franckes Privatbibliothek

Mit dem Francke-Portal soll die wissenschaftliche Informationsversorgung für die interdisziplinär arbeitende Pietismusforschung und für nahezu alle historisch arbeitenden Fachdisziplinen zum 17. und 18. Jahrhundert verbessert sowie die Forschung zu August Hermann Francke und dem hallischen Pietismus angeregt werden.
Technische Grundlage des Francke-Portals bildet die Software-Plattform Visual Library der Firmen
semantics GmbH und
Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG.

Recherche

  • Suchen Sie anhand von Stichworten modulübergreifend nach Dokumenten!
  • Nutzen Sie die Detailsuche für eine zielgerichtete Suchanfrage innerhalb eines jeden Moduls. Die Feldbezeichner sind individuell auf das Modul, d.h. auf die jeweilige Gattung, wie beispielsweise Druckschriften oder Briefe, abgestimmt.
  • Browsen Sie durch die Module und grenzen Sie Ihre Treffer mit den Facetten ein!
  • Nutzen Sie die Suchmöglichkeiten über Listen und Clouds!

Ihre Meinung ist uns wichtig

Wenn Sie Anregungen zur Verbesserung oder Erweiterung des Francke-Portals haben, dann wenden Sie sich bitte an Frau Dr. Britta Klosterberg, Leiterin des Studienzentrums August Hermann Francke: klosterberg(at)francke-halle.de
Wenn Sie Hilfe benötigen bei Ihren Suchanfragen oder Sie Fehler bibliographischer, editorischer oder technischer Art im Francke-Portal entdecken, dann wenden Sie sich bitte an den Projektbearbeiter Herrn Dr. Karsten Hommel: hommel-Irgendwas-(at)francke-halle.de

Kontakt

Franckesche Stiftungen
Studienzentrum August Hermann Francke
- Archiv und Bibliothek –
Franckeplatz 1, Haus 22-24
06110 Halle

Tel.: 0049-(0)345-2127412
e-mail: studienzentrum-Irgendwas-(at)francke-halle.de
Gefördert durch die